Skip to content

December 17, 2012

I had planned to head off the island for Christmas on Wednesday coming, leaving Snuffy, the sheep and hostel in the safe hands of Nathalie and Fernande. However, gales are now forcast for Wednesday so I’m going to have to try to get off tomorrow. So much for my well laid plans… the usual chaos resumes.

Nathalie, Fernande, guest Haneckh and I went up to Tobermory a few days ago to do some shopping, have a jaunt (fish and chips on the pier) and most importantly, choose and cut down our Christmas tree. This is a photo of me looking jaunty, though I could, I suppose, be doing an Irish jig.

2012-12-15-004

This photo is of a tree up past Aros and on the way to Tobermory. Just standing, glittering in lovely splendour in the middle of nowhere. Somebody deserves to be given an award for this -or maybe the reward is simply in the doing. (Iona Hostel Competition ! How many baubles are there ? -only joking)

2012-12-15-002

I’m not sure you’re supposed to, but each year I go up and choose a tree in the Great Glen where there are dozens of suitably sized ones by the verge. The one you want, invariable, is down and across a ditch, through the brambles and up the other side. This year was no different ! And in the rain… The photo’s tell the tale. Nathalie, in particular, was magnificent !

DSC01499

DSC01516

DSC01517

2012-12-16-017

2012-12-16-021

These last photo’s are of the sheep getting their specially wrapped fresh Christmas hay. I think they appreciate the gesture. You’ll have notice, of course, that after a scuffle 007 gets right in there first. Typical.

DSC01525

DSC01531

DSC01537

DSC01546

Happy Christmas to you all !

John.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    December 31, 2012 12:44 pm

    I hope you’ve had a marvellous Christmas and I wish you a very happy New Year!

  2. Vaida permalink
    January 7, 2013 9:00 pm

    Love your hostel. One year I thought it would be a great idea to spend Christmas there, so I came to Oban, despite everyone’s warnings about how difficult it is to get to Iona with no car at this time of the year. I took a ferry to Mull. Of course there were no buses there, so had to hitchhike and then get the only ferry to Iona that day. It was so adventurous and I felt so happy when l arrived to the hostel. Remember there was an American writer/priest writing a book and three other women one of them was an artist and the other one called Leslie I think. It was my best Christmas ever..

    • January 8, 2013 5:23 pm

      Hello Vaida,

      How nice of you to write ! That must be ages ago ? I remember the American writer but don’t remember his name. Christmas’s are funny things. One of my happiest was volunteering to drive a converted minivan about Edinburgh taking old disabled folk to their Christmas party’s. I was feeling a bit low at the time but the enthusiasm and guts of my pick-ups put my own worries in proper perspective.

      Hopefully you’ll manage back to Iona before too long -and have a happy year !

      John.

Leave a Reply

