Skip to content

September 24, 2012

The byre roof repair has begun ! Personally, I loathe crawling around up ladders on rotten tin roofs and woodwormed timber. At 200 lbs I’m no lightweight and I’m not what you’d describe as agile. Still, as nobody better suited is throwing themselves forward to do it -I guess it’s just me.

This corner of the byre is my trial area as it’s pretty straightforward and a good bit to practice on before I tackle the main section. I’ve decided to recover it with clear sheeting to allow the light in -and it transforms the byre. From inside it’ll look like a big sail of sky. My problem is that I’ve now run out of sheeting, part of the roof is open to the sky and another storm is forecast for tonight. I think I’ll just have to hope for the best. I took these photo’s last night as the sun set. As the gable that I’m working on faces west, the evening sun floods in. It’s lovely, particularly as it touches the granite wall. It must be the first time that the wall has had the sun on it for many years.

I found the family of the boatbuilder who built Clovelly. A lovely bunch, though Peter the boatbuilder himself died a few years ago. A Shetlander (as you can guess from the hull shape) he built a few similar boats. Clovelly, built as the Boy Jonathon for a Captain Woods, was launched in around 1976 in Stonehaven. Some folk think it unlucky to rename a boat but I never felt that -and anyway, it’s very common that they are renamed through their lives. So, Boy Jonathon, Girl Susan and Clovelly have been its names to date. Seems to me rather a lovely thing to change the name to something of personal significance. I’m sure the boat doesn’t mind !

Some names, however, deserve to be forgotten. Peter built another boat with the winning name ‘Transient Stability’ (google it !). Can you imagine ? – the engine has failed, you are being blown towards the rocks and your are trying to rouse the Lifeboat:

‘Mayday, Mayday, Mayday, this is yacht Transient Stability, Transient Stability, Transient Stability in position such and such….’

‘Mayday received, please repeat name?…’

‘Clyde Coastguard, this is yacht Tango, Romeo, Alpha, November, Sierra, India, Echo, November, Tango, space, Sierra, Tango, Alpha, Bravo, India, Lima, India, Tango, Yankee…’

This is why you’re better to call your boat ‘Bob’ or ‘Sue’… Or even Clovelly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 12:30 pm

    Love it-both Clovelly and the transforming byre!!

    • Iona Hostel permalink
      September 24, 2012 7:02 pm

      Force 10 due tonight. Oh noooo…

Leave a Reply

