Skip to content

September 18, 2012

My oldest sheep (15 years) ‘Old lady’ died a short while ago. She’s been failing for a few days and in the strong westerlies has been sheltering against the wall of the hostel next to the gate. She just quietly slipped away this evening, and when Nathalie, Martina and I went to check her a few minutes ago, she was dead. I’m surprisingly upset by it. All the more so as I can shoot them if I have to or drive them to the slaughterhouse. Perhaps it’s that she lived through all the ups and downs of my life here, or perhaps it’s because she died so quietly and kindly. That’s not something that you expect with sheep: usually they don’t have the chance to reach the end of their natural life, or, if they do, it can be hard -nature in the raw. This was movingly domestic. She also was special for me. While 007 is the adorable and infuriating performing seal, Old Lady had a thrawn-ness about her. Smeddum. It was probably that that carried her though so long. I’ll bury her tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2012 10:05 pm

    Thinking of you, John, as your heart processes and reflects on this sweet life, Old Lady!

  2. Roy McKeag permalink
    September 19, 2012 7:41 am

    Please accept my condolences John. As an animal lover I too have felt great loss at the passing of animals that had become part of my family. Old Lady was lucky though. She lived a long, natural life on the most idyllic place on earth and was well looked after. I am sure she will give her thanks to you when you next meet.

Leave a Reply

